# Texas A&M University-Kingsville Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes Tuesday, October 7, 2014

**Present:** Ian Aebel, Polly Allred, Ambrose Anoruo, Bart Ballard, Jody Briones, Valerie Bartelt, Apuruba (Apu) Bhattacharya, Daniel Burt, Edward Butterworth, Ruth Chatelain-Jardon, John Chisholm, M. Catherine (Cathy) Downs, James Glusing, Stan Hodges, Kendra Huff, Elizabeth Janzen, Lorraine Killion, Todd Lucas, Lisa McNair, Brenda Melendy, Randy Powell, Joseph Sai, Maria de Jesus Ayala-Schueneman, Nestor Sherman, Jacki Thomas, George Vargas, Amit Verma, Rongdong Wang, Fulden Wissinger, & Monica Wong-Ratcliff

Absent: Farzad Deyhim (1), Oscar Diaz (1), Tim Fulbright (2), Deena L. Garza (2), Nirmal Goswami (2), Kuo-Jen Liao (1), Gerri Maxwell (1), Selahattin Ozcelik (2), Patricia Polatri (1), Emily Ralph (1), Nestor Rodriguez (2)

## I. Call to Order 3:33 pm

a. Quorum Call – Quorum Present

**II. Approval of Minutes,** September 2 Meeting. Motion: Senator Jacki Thomas; Second: Vice-President Amit Verma. Approved by voice vote.

## **III.** Presentations

- a. Dr. Rex Gandy, Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs
  - i. TAMUK enrollment had reached all time high mainly because of the new graduate students in the College of Engineering.
- ii. The current retention rate was 63.5%, which was the same as last year.
- iii. 16% of freshman students transferred to another institution after they had spent their first year in TAMUK.
- iv. SRI & student comments in annual faculty evaluation report Provost Gandy asked the Faculty Senate for feedback and comments.

iv. It was a single degree but involved multiple disciplines.

v.

- vi. This motion was seconded by Senator Edward Butterworth
- vii. President George Vargas suggested inviting Provost Gandy to address the questions, such as:
  - 1. At what level is this being requested, System, THECB, Legislature?
  - 2. What purpose do they intend the use of this information?

### **VI. New Business**

- a. Senator Emily Ralph: Campus Safety
  - i. Senator Ralph was absent.
- b. Honorary Degree Nomination: Dr. Lauro Cavazos
  - i. There should be a committee to decide the recipient.

#### **VII.** Announcements

- a. New Senators Senators Valerie Bartelt, Maria de Jesus Ayala-Schueneman, and Jody Briones
- b. Elections of Colleges of Arts & Sciences & Engineering ballots were not counted yet
- c. Name plaques President George Vargas reminded the senators to put down their names on the list if they needed a name plaque.
- d. Committee on committees 2014-2015 membership: Senator Ambrose Anoruo – College of Agriculture, Natural Resources, & Human Sciences Senator Maria de Jesus Ayala-Schueneman – Jernigan Library Senator Valerie Bartelt – College of Business Administration (chair) Senator Jody Briones – College of Arts & Sciences Senator Lisa McNair – College of Education & Human Performance Senator Joseph Sai – College of Engineering

## VIII. Adjournment 4:45 pm

Next meeting: Tuesday November 4, 2014